I can’t believe how little time it takes for me to be able to forget about blogging.  I love reading other people’s blogs and always wish I had interesting things to say, as well. 

Last night for dinner I made roast and then tried two new recipes from The Pioneer Woman:  Crash Hot Potatoes and Bacon & Spinach Salad.  Oh Heaven!  I had tried the spinach and bacon salad once at a restaurant and fell in love.  I thought that it was a house specialty and that I would have to go back to that restaurant whenever I wanted the salad, but the other day I was reading The Pioneer Woman’s blog and saw that she had posted a recipe that looked similar to what I had tried.  It was almost the same, and maybe even a little better.  I will definitely be making that salad again!  Tonight’s menu is sloppy joes, baked beans, and cheesy broccoli.  I’m pretty hungry already.

I ran across something called the Happiness Project that I have also been working on as a New Year Resolution (along with quitting smoking…which I DID!).  The basic premise is that you find twelve areas of your life that you would like to improve on, and then assign each of them to a month of the year.  Then you spend that one month working on that area and by the time another month rolls around, you’ve created a habit out of your previous month’s goal.  Sounds easy, huh?  My goal for the year is to learn to love and accept myself.  This month I have been working on routine.  I’m a huge fan of organization, but over the past 3 1/2 years I’ve had a hard time with it because of how much I’ve had to work.  Since Aaron and I recently made some decisions that have made it to where I don’t have to work so much I’ve been feeling much better mentally.  So I’ve been working on creating a routine that I can follow and so far so good.  I only have a week left of this month, and I think I was able to find something that incorporates cleaning, cooking, work, family time, and time to rest/relax (something I haven’t had time for since 2006). 

Leave a Reply

