October 10, 2010


I’m done with my diet for awhile, or at least with the hard part.  I have three weeks of no starch/no sugar while my body tries to stabilize at it’s new weight (24 lbs lighter than I was 7 1/2 weeks ago!) and then I can eat “normally” again until I start my third and final round to try to get rid of the last 10-15 lbs that I want to be rid of.  I’m technically only about 8 lbs away from being a healthy weight according to the weight/height charts.  I’m excited to have come this far and excited to see the changes in my size, now I’m just waiting for my brain to catch up.  Even though I’m now a loose size ten (down from a tight size 14) and I can SEE the changes in my body, my brain doesn’t feel the change yet.  The biggest change, though, is the fact that I’m no longer obsessed with food.  I don’t think about it all the time, I’m not constantly planning what I’m going to cook next.  In fact it’s so bad that I rarely remember to defrost stuff when I need to in time for dinner because I just don’t think about dinner until it’s actually time to cook. Eating “normally” for me now is actually so abnormal.  I can’t finish an entire quesadilla (two small tortillas with some cheese).  I ate one piece of toast and three eggs for breakfast and felt sick when I was done.  My portion sizes are under control and now I’m trying to figure out what amount of food that I need to serve for myself because nothing is the way that it used to be.  In a way it’s upsetting.  Food has been my friend for as long as I can remember.  I think food took the place of my step-mom when she left my dad when I was 12.  It was always my friend and now it’s not.  I’m not sure what to put in it’s place anymore.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bre
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 17:53:30

    So will I be able to see your blogs from here on blogspot? I am confused. Lol.

    Reply

    • MiaIsNeat
      Oct 10, 2010 @ 18:24:56

      I think you will have to “follow” this blog now. I’m not really sure. I’ve always liked WordPress better than blogspot because once you learn it, it has so many more options than blogspot has. I have imported all of my blogspot posts into this blog.

      Reply

  2. Erica Kovacs
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 17:58:47

    Yay!! You’ve finished another 3 week round and have done so successfully!

    I keep trying to watch that streaming video of your friend but it keeps stopping and pausing and skipping around. =(

    How amazing to know you’re no longer addicted to food. I’m looking forward to the day when I can say the same thing.

    Great job, friend!♥

    Reply

    • MiaIsNeat
      Oct 10, 2010 @ 18:26:50

      Thanks E! Sorry that the video isn’t working. It skipped a few times on me earlier, too. I wonder if it has something to do with the quality of your internet connection. I have a pretty good connection so maybe that’s why it didn’t skip around on me too much. I searched Youtube, but it’s not posted on there. I wish they’d post it there for the people who don’t want to watch a video that’s already in progress!!!

      Reply

  3. Phil
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 18:04:44

    There are many worthwhile things that can take its place. Give it time, and you’ll find something that fills the hole in a positive way. Good job! 🙂

    Reply

    • MiaIsNeat
      Oct 10, 2010 @ 18:27:54

      Yeah, I just don’t want to fill that hole with another bad habit (or even a good one that becomes an obsession). I want to be done being controlled by things, no matter what they are.

      Reply

  4. cindy
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 16:41:50

    Nice!!! Im really hoping for another 10lbs in the next 12 days 🙂 I really hope I can do it. I dont know how you guys go rounds with this, I really think I can only do this one round! I feel like I broke an addiction in a way!! Now to quit smoking… 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

